Tennis Rules

Tennis is a sport that began in England in the mid-nineteenth century and is now popular in many nations across the world. Wimbledon, the US Open, the French Open, and the Australian Open are the four main events that make up the majors.

The Goal of the Game

Tennis is a sport that takes place on a rectangular court with a net running across the middle. The goal is to knock the ball over the net and place it within the court’s borders in such a manner that your opponent is unable to return the ball. Every time your opponent cannot return the ball within the court, you gain a point.

Players and their gear

A singles match is played with one player on each side, while a doubles match is played with two players. A baseline (at the back), service areas (two places just over the net where a successful serve must land), and two tram lines (on either side) make up the rectangular court. If you’re playing singles, you’ll be on the inner tram line, and if you’re playing doubles, you’ll be on the outer tram line.
Grass, clay, hard surface, and carpet are the four major surfaces on which a court can be played. Each competition will stick to a single surface type throughout, and a stringed racket and a tennis ball are necessary for terms of equipment.


To win a tennis match, you must score four points. The points are 15 (1 point), 30 (two points), and 40 (three points), with the fourth resulting in the winning end and the game’s conclusion. If the score was 40-40, it was referred to as a deuce. When a tournament reaches deuce, the player must win by a margin of at least two points.